view The Blue Mountains events calendar
business listings
view The Blue Mountains business directory
local news
view The Blue Mountains Review
view The Blue Mountains volunteer opportunities

The Review

List of Candidates for Municipal Election - October 22, 2018

Posted On: Saturday, July 21, 2018

NOMINATIONS CLOSED WITH 3 Candidates for Mayor; 3 for Deputy Mayor and 10 for Councillor

List of Candidates for Municipal Election - October 22, 2018


Left to right : Mayor (One to be elected), Alar Soever, Gail Ardiel, David Wilding Davies; Deputy Mayor (One to be elected) Odette Bartnicki, Michael Martin, Paul Mitchell; Councillors (Five to be elected) Paula Hope, Andrea Matrosovs, Jim Uram, Peter Bordignon, Rob Potter, Rob Sampson, John White  (absent Alex Maxwell, Terrence Pettit, June Porter) 


Internet and Telephone Voting

The Town of The Blue Mountains will be using both internet and telephone voting in the 2018 Municipal Election.

Mail-in and paper ballots will not be used. With internet and telephone voting, electors will have the opportunity to cast their ballots where telephone or internet service is available.

The Town will offer Help Centres and Education Centres throughout the election period to ensure all voters have the opportunity to participate.

Key Dates
Nomination/campaign period begins
May 1, 2018
The last day to file nomination papers and last day to withdraw nominations
July 27, 2018 - 2:00 p.m.
Election Day
October 22, 2018
Beginning of  term of office
December 1, 2018
End of term of office
November 14, 2022

Mayor (One to be elected)


Deputy Mayor (One to be elected)

Councillors (Five to be elected)


Candidates for The Bluewater District School Board

The information and resources in this section are being provided to assist those who are interested in running for the position of school board trustee.

Bluewater District School Board serves Bruce and Grey Counties with approximately 16,200 students in 39 elementary schools and 9 secondary schools.  There are nine elected trustees and one appointed Indigenous trustee who form the Board of Trustees.

Bluewater District School Board trustees and staff are guided by the vision, mission and priorities that are outlined in the board's Multi-Year Strategic Plan.  More detailed information on the implementation of the Multi-Year Strategic Plan and the work of the board can be found in the Director's Annual Report 2017.

Trustee, Bluewater District Board of Education (ACCLAIMED),
representing the combined area of the Town of The Blue Mountains and Municipality Meaford

Frances Morgan    519-986-2731 


A Couple of Changes to the Elections Act


The limit for campaign contributions to one candidate is now $1,200, increased from $750. Corporations and trade unions are not permitted to make contributions to candidates.

Third Party Advertising

There are now rules for third party advertising. Campaigning for a “yes” or “no” answer to a question on the ballot is now considered to be third party advertising. For detailed information about third party advertising, see the 2018 Guide for Third Party Advertisers.  Click Here


read all news

Stay Informed
click here to subscribe to email updates from Blue Mountains Review
Your donations are greatly appreciated!

Upcoming Events

Location: Blue Mountain Village


Location: 15 Harbour Street, Maiolos Thornbury


Location: St. George's Anglican Church


Location: 15 Harbour Street, Maiolos, Thornbury


Location: Blue Mountain Village


Location: Marsh Street Centre

Municipal Events

Paul Mitchell - Candidate for Deputy Mayor

Alar Soever

Full Circle Band

Blue Mountain Honda

Peter for Council

Paula Hope

Rob Potter

Andrea Matrosovs

Michael Martin

Rob Sampson